Picosa: Locus of Movement Concert

Submitted by Picosa on Fri, 02/09/2018 - 4:54am
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm

Picosa’s LOCUS OF MOVEMENTconcert is all about capturing movement - musically, symbolically, and historically. 


 Tuesday, February 20th, 7:30pm PianoForte Chicago

Sunday, March 11th, 3:00pm, Mayslake Peabody Estate, Oak Brook


Chicago & Oak Brook, IL- Picosa brings a moving program to the stage on Tuesday, February 20th  at 7:30pm at PianoForte Chicago, 1335 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago and Sunday, March 11th at 3:00pm, Mayslake Peabody Estate, 1717 W. 31st Street, Oak Brook.  Music lovers will enjoy experiencingPicosas signature symphonic sound and welcoming community at every program of virtuosic chamber music.  General Admission tickets for the concert and dessert reception are $25 with discounts available for seniors and students.  Picosa is a 501(c)(3) not for profit organization. To purchase tickets, visit:  www.PicosaMusic.com


The program opens with the dance-inspired Divertimento opus 100, no. 1, by Franz Joseph Haydn.  Three miniature works by Augusta Read Thomas D(i)agon(als) for solo clarinet, Euterpe’s Capricefor solo flute, and Capricci for flute and clarinet capture movement and motion in their mercurial and spinning musical lines. 


Sprinkled throughout the program are three contrasting works representing the motion through life itself, from childhood to the twilight years.  Marc MellitsMara’s Lullaby for flute, cello, and piano captures a melody the composer sang to his infant daughter at bedtime, and Asha Srinivasan’sDviraagfor flute and cello references the Carnatic singing of the composer’s youth.  Claude Debussy’sViolin Sonata was written late in the composers’ life, and seems particularly appropriate as we observe Debussy’s Centenary Celebration, honoring the 100th anniversary of his passing in 2018. 


Picosa is thrilled to present Arnold Schoenberg’s romantic yet revolutionary Kammersymphonie No. 1, transcribed by Anton Webern.  The music of “the Second Viennese School”, which included composers Arnold Schoenberg and his pupils Anton Webern and Alban Berg, created a seismic shift in the western tradition of classical music, moving away from diatonicism and towards heterodox terrain in tonality and form.  Works including Schoenberg’s Kammersymphonieultimately paved the way between the romantic music of composers like Richard Strauss and Gustav Mahler and the new modernist language and expression of contemporary music.





Finally, we are particularly excited to welcome visual artist Lewis Achenbach who will be live painting the entire event at Mayslake Peabody Estate in Oak Brook.  His works of art will be available for sale after the concert. Following this concert, audience members are invited to stay for the Meet the Musicians Gourmet Dessert Reception to chat with all the performers and enjoy some treats.


Tickets are $25.  High school students and younger are free, and accompanying parents receive a discounted ticket of $10.  College student $10.  Senior discounts available. Please visit www.PicosaMusic.com to purchase tickets and for information about locations and parking. 


Picosa is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.  Donations to the ensemble support Picosa operations including its commitment to bring music to underserved communities through their collaboration with Hesed House and nurturing rising amateur and young musicians through their Interludes Chamber Ensembles program.  Please visit www.PicosaMusic.com/donate.



Franz Joseph Haydn | Divertimento op. 100, No. 1 (flute/violin/cello)

                I. Adagio cantabile

                II. Allegro

                III. Allegro moderato

Marc Mellits | Mara’s Lullaby(flute/cello/piano)

Augusta Read Thomas | D(i)agon(als) (clarinet)

Augusta Read Thomas | Euterpe’s Caprice (flute)

Augusta Read Thomas | Capricci (flute/clarinet)                                                                                         

Claude Debussy | Violin Sonata in g minor  (violin/piano)

            I. Allegro vivo

            II. Intermede. Fantasque et leger

            III. Finale. Tres anime

Asha Srinivasan| Dviraag(flute/cello)

Arnold Schoenberg arr. Webern | Kammersymphonie, op. 9 (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)


Jennie Oh Brown | flute

Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet

Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin

Kuang-Hao Huang | piano

Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence



Kurt Fowler | cello




Picosa showcases its signature orchestral sound with eclectic programming that brings the art of virtuosic chamber music to every concert experience.  Picosa is a Chicago based chamber music ensemble and a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Donate at www.PicosaMusic.com/donate



Jennie Oh Brown | flute

Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet

Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Patti Garvey | cello

Kuang-Hao Huang | piano

Jonathon Kirk | Composer-​in-​Residence


Facebook: PicosaMusic
Twitter: @PicosaMusic
Instagram: @PicosaMusic
YouTube Channel: Link
Blog: www.PicosaMusic.com/blog
EventBrite Tickets: Link

Donate:  Click to Donate!

Location and contact
Pianoforte Chicago
S. Michigan Avenue
Chicago  Illinois
United States
Contact Email: